Table 1. Overview of main tree species and regions considered for defining reference forests within each European biogeographic zone.

Boreal Central Eastern Atlantic Mediterranean
Picea spp. Fagus spp. Picea sitchensis Pinus spp.
Pinus sylvestris Picea spp. Pinus pinaster Eucalyptus spp.
Betula spp. Pinus sylvestris Eucalyptus spp.
Quercus spp.
Västerbotten (Sweden) Baden-Würtenberg (Germany)
Alpine region (Austria)
Lorraine (France)
Silesia (Poland)
Aquitaine (France)
Scotland (UK)
Catalonia (Spain)