Table 3. Diversification of products.

Diversified Farming Systems Attribute Case Studies Web site/Reference
Mixed or minor breed cattle Carrizo Valley Ranch http://www.bountifulconservation.com/2012/carrizo-valley-ranch-and-sid-goodloe/
47 Ranch Barnes 2011
Pharo Cattle Company http://pharocattle.com/
Windsor Dairy http://ruralspin.com/2012/01/30/windsor-dairy-colorado/
Marin Sun Farms http://www.marinsunfarms.com
Effertz EZ Ranch http://www.loala.com
American Criollo Beef Association http://www.leanandtenderbeef.com
Rehoboth Ranch http://www.rehobothranch.com
Shire Gate Farm http://www.shiregatefarm.com
Montana Grasslands Beef http://montanagrasslandsbeef.com
Multiple livestock species Fox Fire Farms http://www.foxfirefarms.com/
47 Ranch Barnes 2011
Polyface http://www.polyfacefarms.com
James Ranch http://www.jamesranch.net
Ladder Ranch http://www.ladderranch.com
Marin Sun Farms http://www.marinsunfarms.com
Parker Pastures http://parkerlandmanagement.com
Rehoboth Ranch http://www.rehobothranch.com
Meadows Family Farms http://meadowsfamilyfarms.com
Arriola Sunshine Farm http://www.arriolasunshinefarm.com/
Breeding stock Pharo Cattle Company http://pharocattle.com
Lasater Ranch http://www.lasaterranch.com
Tamarack Lamb and Wool http://tamaracksheep.com/
Effertz EZ Ranch http://www.loala.com
Matheson Farms http://www.mathesonfarms.com
Montana Grasslands Beef http://montanagrasslandsbeef.com
Arriola Sunshine Farm http://www.arriolasunshinefarm.com/
Value-added animal products (pet food, jerky, bacon, sausage, tamales) JX Ranch Natural Beef http://www.leannaturalbeef.com/about-us.htm
McNeil Ranch http://www.grassfedandhealthy.com
Sinte Gleska Bison Ranch http://www.sintegleska.edu/bison/
Marin Sun Farms http://www.marinsunfarms.com
Meadows Family Farm http://meadowsfamilyfarms.com
Nonmeat animals/animal products (dairy, eggs, horses, dogs, leather, wool, dog bones, rodeo bulls) JX Ranch Natural Beef http://www.leannaturalbeef.com/about-us.htm
Fox Fire Farms http://www.foxfirefarms.com/
Tamarack Lamb and Wool http://tamaracksheep.com/
Windsor Dairy http://ruralspin.com/2012/01/30/windsor-dairy-colorado/
Polyface http://www.polyfacefarms.com
James Ranch http://www.jamesranch.net
Ladder Ranch http://www.ladderranch.com
Hobo Ranch http://www.hoboranches.com
Marin Sun Farms http://www.marinsunfarms.com
Parker Pastures http://parkerlandmanagement.com
Rehoboth Ranch http://www.rehobothranch.com
Thunder Heart Bison http://www.thunderheartbison.com
Arriola Sunshine Farm http://www.arriolasunshinefarm.com/
Mixed crop and livestock (crops, honey, timber, agricultural products, e.g., compost, feed) Tamarack Lamb and Wool http://tamaracksheep.com/
Fox Fire Farms http://www.foxfirefarms.com/
James Ranch http://www.jamesranch.net
Work Ranch http://www.workranch.com
Tejon Ranch http://www.tejonranch.com
Swanton Pacific Ranch http://spranch.org
Nicasio Native Grass Ranch http://www.marinorganic.org/producers/producers_nicasio_native.html
Shire Gate Farm http://www.shiregatefarm.com
Meadows Family Farm http://meadowsfamilyfarms.com
Thunder Heart Bison http://www.thunderheartbison.com
Arriola Sunshine Farm http://www.arriolasunshinefarm.com/
Wood products Polyface http://www.polyfacefarms.com
Swanton Pacific Ranch http://spranch.org
Nonagricultural products (energy production, mining, boats and trailers, merchandise, photos) Carrizo Valley Ranch http://www.bountifulconservation.com/2012/carrizo-valley-ranch-and-sid-goodloe/
47 Ranch Barnes 2011
James Ranch http://www.jamesranch.net
Lava Lake Lamb http://www.lavalakelamb.com
McNeil Ranch http://www.grassfedandhealthy.com
Tejon Ranch http://www.tejonranch.com
Cherokee Hills Ranch http://www.cherokeehillsranch.com