Table 2. Diversification of land access and tenure arrangements.

Diversified Farming Systems Attribute Case Studies Web site/Reference
Conservation easements
Shared or common property regimes
California Rangeland Trust http://www.rangelandtrust.org/conservation.php
Carrizo Valley Ranch http://www.bountifulconservation.com/2012/carrizo-valley-ranch-and-sid-goodloe/
47 Ranch Barnes 2011
Matador Grassbank http://www.nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/montana/placesweprotect/matador-ranch.xml
Malpai Borderlands Group http://www.malpaiborderlandsgroup.org/
Tejon Ranch http://www.tejonranch.com
Marin Agricultural Land Trust http://www.malt.org
Green River Drift (Wyoming) Fisher 2011
Multispecies grazing
Grassbanks
Federal, state, tribal, or college/university ownership
Beaty’s Butte Grazing Association (Southern Oregon) Fisher 2011
North Fork Group Allotment (Elko, Nevada) Fisher 2011
Matador Grassbank http://www.nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/montana/placesweprotect/matador-ranch.xml
Valle Grande Grassbank http://quiviracoalition.org/Land_and_Water_Program/Valle_Grande_Ranch_-_Rowe_Mesa_Grassbank/
Heart Mountain Grassbank http://www.compatibleventures.com/GB_fact_sheet_heart.pdf
Malpai Borderlands Group http://www.malpaiborderlandsgroup.org
Empire Ranch http://www.empireranchfoundation.org
Valles Caldera National Preserve http://www.vallescaldera.gov
Chico Basin Ranch http://www.chicobasinranch.com
Arapaho Ranch http://www.arapahoranch.com
Matching livestock numbers and needs to variable forage conditions Sinte Gleska Bison Ranch http://www.sintegleska.edu/bison/
Swanton Pacific Ranch http://spranch.org
Deep Springs Ranch http://www.deepsprings.edu/labor/ranch