Table 1. Diversification through innovative management practices.

Diversified Farming Systems Attribute Case Studies Web site/Reference
Grazing systems Holistic Management International http://www.holisticmanagement.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=77&Itemid=45
JX Ranch Natural Beef http://www.leannaturalbeef.com/about-us.htm
Blue Range Ranch http://bluerangeranch.com
Three Creeks Ranch http://www.sandcounty.net/initiatives/LCA/Winners/CA/?ID=159
Ray Banister Provenza 2007
47 Ranch Barnes 2011
Empire Ranch http://www.empireranchfoundation.org
Nicasio Native Grass Ranch http://www.marinorganic.org/producers/producers_nicasio_native.html
Multispecies grazing Tamarack Lamb and Wool http://tamaracksheep.com/
Fox Fire Farms http://www.foxfirefarms.com/
47 Ranch Barnes 2011
Polyface http://www.polyfacefarms.com
James Ranch http://www.jamesranch.net
Ladder Ranch http://www.ladderranch.com
Hobo Ranch http://www.hoboranches.com
Marin Sun Farms http://www.marinsunfarms.com
Parker Pastures http://parkerlandmanagement.com
Rehoboth Ranch http://www.rehobothranch.com
Matching livestock numbers and needs to variable forage conditions Pharo Cattle Company http://pharocattle.com/
Lasater Ranch http://www.lasaterranch.com
Ray Banister Provenza 2007